France Football announce the rule changes of the Ballon d’Or that will take effect immediately

France Football announce the rule changes of the Ballon d'Or that will take effect immediately

The FIFA Ballon d’Or is arguably the most prestigious individual football award and it’s one of things that almost every player would love to win at least once during his career. However, in the last six years when FIFA and France Football partnered in each other when giving out the award, only two players were honored with it – Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Now, as the partnership between FIFA and France Football has ended, the rules when determining the winner will be reverted to the ones that existed until 2009. They will be as it follows:

– The voting will only include votes from journalists. National team managers and captains no longer have a vote.

– The shortlist of finalists for the Ballon d’Or award will increase from 23 to 30.

– There will be no three man finalists ahead of the award ceremony.

– The Ballon d’Or will be presented before the end of the calendar year, as opposed to January.

It will be interesting whether reverting the rules to the time before the partnership with FIFA will stop the domination of Ronaldo and Messi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.