AC Milan name seven new signings in Europa League qualifying squad


AC Milan have announced their official 20-man squad for the first leg of the third qualifying round for the UEFA Europa League on Thursday.

The Italians line-up against Romanian side CS U Craiova in an early opportunity for their fans to see some of their new signings link up with the current squad.

Notable exclusions include Colombian striker Carlos Bacca, who is expected to join Marseille in the coming weeks, and first-team regulars Suso, Alessio Romagnoli and Gabriel Paletta.

ac milan
AC Milan boss Vincenzo Montella announced that Carlos Bacca would be excluded from the Europa League squad due to ‘future transfer market moves’. He is heavily rumoured to be moving to Marseille for €20 million

Amongst Milan’s new signings, Leonardo Bonucci, Hakan Calhanoglu and Lucas Biglia all miss out, meaning fans will have to wait a little longer for their official debuts.

With the Serie A season opener against Crotone still three weeks away, Milan will hope to build on a 4-0 friendly result against Bayern Munich from the weekend with a positive result in Romania.

The Europa League will present manager Vincenzo Montella the chance to experiment with his squad in a competitive setting so early in the season, whilst also presenting an alternative route back into the Champions League next season, as seen with Manchester United recently.

Full squad vs. CS U Craiova:

Goalkeepers: Gianluigi Donnarumma, Antonio Donnarumma, Marco Storari

Defenders: Ignazio Abate, Luca Antonelli, Davide Calabria, Andrea Conti, Gustavo Gomez, Mateo Musacchio, Ricardo Rodriguez, Cristian Zapata

Midfielders: Riccardo Montolivo, Jose Mauri, Manuel Locatelli, Giacomo Bonaventura, Franck Kessie

Forwards: Andre Silva, Fabio Borini, M’Baye Niang, Patrick Cutrone


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.