FIFA Player of the Year Shortlist


FIFA have released a 24-man shortlist for the 2017 Player of the Year award.

Real Madrid dominate the list with seven players featured after a stellar season that saw them complete a La Liga and Champions League double for the first time since 1958.

El Clasico rivals Barcelona are the next best represented club, with four, one of which is a perplexing inclusion for Andres Iniesta. The 33-year-old endured an injury riddled campaign and made 13 starts in La Liga – his lowest return since the 2004/05 season.

Italian and German champions Juventus and Bayern Munich have three representatives each, while English champions Chelsea have two.

Borussia Dortmund, Atletico Madrid, Arsenal, Manchester United and Tottenham make up the remainder of the list, each with one representative.

FIFA Player of the Year shortlist:

Real Madrid:fifa

Dani Carvajal

Toni Kroos


Luka Modric

Keylor Navas

Sergio Ramos

Cristiano Ronaldo


Andres Iniesta

Lionel Messi

Neymar (now of PSG)

Luis Suarez


Leonardo Bonucci (now of AC Milan)

Gianluigi Buffon

Paulo Dybala

Bayern Munich:fifa

Robert Lewandowski

Manuel Neuer

Arturo Vidal


Eden Hazard

N’Golo Kante

Arsenal:fifaAlexis Sanchez

Atletico Madrid:fifa

Antoine Griezmann

Borussia Dortmund:fifa

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

Manchester United:fifa

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (now a free agent)


Harry Kane



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.