How will the UEFA Nations League work?


UEFA’s 55 member nations split into four leagues known as the UEFA Nations League, which kicks off in September 2018.

How does it work?

  • 55 nations are split into four leagues: A, B, C and D. Their positioning into the leagues is determined by their UEFA National Team Coefficient Rankings following the end of the European Qualifiers for the 2018 World Cup in Russia.
  • League A will consist of the 12 top-ranked UEFA Nations. The next 12 will be placed in League B, the next 15 in League C and the final 16 in League D.
  • Leagues A and B will have four groups of three teams.
  • League C will have one group of three teams and three groups of four teamss.
  • League D will have four groups of four teams.
  • After the first edition of the UEFA Nations League there will be promotion and relegation between the divisions, and subsequent UEFA Nations League rankings will determine seedings for all future European Qualifiers.
uefa nations league
The UEFA Nations League will give Belgium, Switzerland, Poland, Croatia, Iceland and Wales a shot at their first-ever major title.

What if the leagues were decided today?

Based on the latest Interim National Team Coefficient Rankings published after the last international break (not to be confused with FIFA’s national team rankings), this is how the draw pool for the UEFA Nations League would look:

League A (teams to be drawn into four groups of three teams)

Germany, Portugal, Belgium, Spain, Switzerland, France, England, Italy, Poland, Croatia, Iceland, Wales

League B (teams to be drawn into four groups of three teams)

Russia, Northern Ireland, Slovakia, Sweden, Netherlands, Ukraine, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Austria, Turkey, Republic of Ireland, Denmark, Hungary

League C (teams to be split into one group of three and three groups of four)

Slovenia, Albania, Montenegro, Serbia, Scotland, Czech Republic, Romania, Greece, Bulgaria, Israel, Norway, Cyprus, Finland, Estonia, Azerbaijan

League D (teams to be split into four groups of four)

Lithuania, Bulgaria, Georgia, Armenia, FYR Macedonia, Faroe Islands, Luxembourg, Latvia, Moldova, Kazakhstan, Liechtenstein, Andorra, Malta, Kosovo, San Marino, Gibraltar



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.