Republic of Ireland squad for World Cup Playoff vs. Denmark


Everton midfielder James McCarthy is one of seven players who will miss Ireland’s World Cup Playoff against Denmark after Martin O’Neil reduced his preliminary squad down to 27 players.

Derby County defender Richard Keogh and Preston North End striker Sean Maguire miss out through injury, while the quartet of David McGoldrick, Alan Browne, Daryl Hogan and Jonny Hayes were dropped.

In one of the more unexpected and interesting facts of FIFA World Cup history, Ireland have never failed to qualify out of the group stages at a World Cup. They reached the Quarter-Finals in 1990, falling 1-0 to Italy, and reached the Round of 16 in 1994 and 2002. Conversely, the 2002 tournament was their last appearance at a World Cup, and they’ve only appeared in 3 of the 20 World Cups overall.

Ireland travel to Copenhagen on Saturday for the first leg before hosting the decider three days later in Dublin.

Hull City midfielder David Meyler is included in the squad despite the fact he will miss the first leg through suspension.

Ireland World Cup Playoff Squad

Goalkeepers: Darren Randolph, Keiran Westwood, Rob Elliot, Colin Doyle

Defenders: Cyrus Christie, Ciaran Clark, Shane Duffy, Matt Doherty, Paul McShane, John O’Shea, Kevin Long, Stephen Ward

Midfielders: Aiden McGeady, Glen Whelan, Wes Hoolahan, Conor Hourihane, Harry Arter, Robby Brady, Jeff Hendrick, Eunan O’Kane, David Meyler, Callum O’Dowda, James McClean

Forwards: Shane Long, Daryl Murphy, Scott Hogan, Aiden O’Brien


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.