UEFA reveal incredible Team of the Century


UEFA have named their Team of the Century, boasting some of the most decorated players in football history.

The XI was determined by the number of times a player had been voted in the annual UEFA Team of the Year.

Without further ado, here is UEFA’s official Team of the Century.

team of the century

Iker Casillas

UEFA Team of the Year: 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

A three-time UEFA Champions League winner (2000, 2002, 2014), World Cup winner and two-time European Champion with Spain, Iker Casillas has been singled out as the most decorated goalkeeper of the 21st century.

team of the centuryCarles Puyol

UEFA Team of the Year: 2002, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2009, 2010

A fearless leader for Barcelona, Carles Puyol won three UEFA Champions League titles within six years (2006, 2009, 2011) on top of guiding Spain to a EURO 2008 and 2010 World Cup triumph.


team of the centuryGerard Pique

UEFA Team of the Year: 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016

Barcelona teammate Gerard Pique picks up where Carles Puyol left off, winning a multitude of titles with club and country, including three UEFA Champions League crowns (2009, 2011, 2015) and two major honours with La Roja (2010 World Cup and EURO 2012).


team of the centurySergio Ramos

UEFA Team of the Year: 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Sergio Ramos maintains the all-Spanish UEFA Team of the Century contingent thus far, and deservedly so after leading Real Madrid to UEFA Champions League glory in three of the past four seasons (2014, 2016, 2017) and contributing to three major honours with Spain (EURO 2008, World Cup 2010 and EURO 2012).


team of the centuryPhillip Lahm

UEFA Team of the Year: 2006, 2008, 2012, 2013, 2014

The German holds a reputation as one of the most consistent players of the past decade, lifting honours with club and country, including the UEFA Champions League in 2013 with Bayern Munich and the World Cup with Germany in 2014.


team of the centuryXavi

UEFA Team of the Year: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012

Xavi was central to the dominance of Barcelona and Spain throughout his illustrious career, lifting four UEFA Champions League crowns (2006, 2009, 2011, 2015), two European Championships (2008, 2012) and the World Cup (2010).


team of the centuryAndres Iniesta

UEFA Team of the Year: 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2016

Wherever Xavi is found, Iniesta is usually not too far away. The metronomic duo sparkled together for Barcelona and Spain, winning a plethora of titles and earning plaudits for showing just how beautiful the ‘beautiful game’ can be.


team of the centurySteven Gerrard

UEFA Team of the Year: 2005, 2006, 2007

Liverpool heartbeat Steven Gerrard is one of five midfielders to make the UEFA Team of the Year three times alongside Kaka, Ronaldinho, Pavel Nedved and Zinedine Zidane. He earned more nominations than all of them, narrowly granting him a spot in the side, but it is justified considering the Englishman’s contribution to one of the most magical moments in UEFA Champions League history: Istanbul.


team of the centuryCristiano Ronaldo

UEFA Team of the Year: 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, 2016

Portuguese superstar Cristiano Ronaldo holds an unprecedented 11 entries in the UEFA Team of the Year, and adds four UEFA Champions League crowns to his CV (2008 with Manchester United – 2014, 2016, 2017 with Real Madrid) as well as the previously elusive international honour with Portugal, winning EURO 2016.


team of the centuryLionel Messi

UEFA Team of the Year: 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016

Argentine icon Lionel Messi has the second-most entries into the UEFA Team of the Year, with eight. He’s enjoyed immense success with Barcelona in Europe, winning four UEFA Champions League titles (2006, 2009, 2011, 2015). He is easily one of the greatest players of his generation – arguably ever – and has a list of personal accolades that would leave me here typing all day.


team of the centuryThierry Henry

UEFA Team of the Year: 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2006

Thierry Henry burst onto the scene with Monaco and France in the late 90’s, winning numerous individual honours and lifting the World Cup in 1998. He had already settled into life at Arsenal by the time he won EURO 2000, earning four consecutive UEFA Team of the Year places. However, he would not taste UEFA Champions League success until moving to Barcelona, where he would go on to lift the trophy in 2009.


  1. It should be more than just players who won the UEFA Champions League.

    Gigi Buffon is by far the best goalkeeper this era.

  2. Should be here Buffon, the best keep by far (where was Casillas these last fours years?), and Raul, the best champions league scorer of his era and still the third all time only after Messi and Ronaldo.

  3. Leave it to UEFA to screw up something so simple. I’m a Barca fan and I’m embarrassed by the overrepresentation. These guys have cocktails and reminisce about their limited knowledge of football and then publish their ‘insights’. Hanging a 5th grader’s crayon drawing in the Louvre makes more sense.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.